Wednesday, July 18, 2007

Asian Youth Choir 2007

Asian Youth Choir

Asian Youth Choir (AYC) was founded in 1998 at Niigata Prefecture as a part of Asian Culture Days. It has been organized every 2 years and already 5 times since then. Singers are 18-30 years old from all over the Asian countries (Indonesia, India, China, Taiwan, Phillippines, Malaysia, Singapore, Thailand, South Korea, Russia and Japan). AYC is initially formed as a music camp and holds several concerts. In the year 2000 AYC had the privilege of performing a concert at Asian Music Week in Yokohama.

This year, AYC 2007 will be held in Indonesia as a substitute program for Asia-Pacific Youth Choir in Taiwan. Another reason is that in every AYC that has been done, singers from Indonesia has been many in numbers and are very active. Participants are not only singers but also composers, music teachers, etc.

Chifuru Matsubara, conductor

Chifuru Matsubara studied at Kunitachi Music College and Sibelius Academy in Finland also masterclasses under by Prof. Eric Ericson and Prof. Dan-Olof Stenlund.

He had conducted Finnish Radio Chamber Choir, Helsinki University Male Choir, Tapiola Choir, etc. He had been the guest conductor of Estonian Philharmonic Chamber Choir, Estonian National Male Choir, Latvia Radio Choir, Polish Chamber Choir, etc. He also led Choir Conducting Masterclasses in several European Countries.

Since 1987, he has been researching, restoring, and performing Finnish Gregorian Chant. He is the principal conductor of Tokyo Philharmonic Chorus since 1997.

The Choristers


Ade Ayu Anggraeini - Indonesia
Benedikta Ira Kristiyanti - Indonesia
Chee Hui Hui - Malaysia
Chikako Hino - Japan
Christine Maniar Tobing - Indonesia
Heidi Florence - Indonesia
Rita N.V. Hildemina - Indonesia
Seiko Okuda - Japan
Shirabe Aoki - Japan
Sri Winarni - Indonesia
Valentina Anggie Maharani - Indonesia


Fransiska Sarah Sylvania - Indonesia
Fumiko Kato - Japan
Hiroko Sasaki - Japan
Mako Ikeda - Japan
Minako Yamori - Japan
Takako Sasage - Japan
Yosefin Emilia - Indonesia


Antonius Halawa - Indonesia
Arvin Zeinullah - Indonesia
Daniel Victor - Indonesia
Ivan Jonathan - Indonesia
Ivan Yohan - Indonesia
Lawrence Ng Swee Yong - Singapore
Masashi Kishimoto - Japan
Satriya Krisna - Indonesia


Antonius Dody Soetanto - Indonesia
Arjay Viray - Phillippines
Azarya Ega Odeta - Indonesia
Budi Susanto Yohanes - Indonesia
Nathanael Ahimsa - Indonesia
Novrian Widjaya - Indonesia
Tri Putra Simanjuntak - Indonesia

The Concerts

Friday, 27 July 2007
at 7.30 pm
GSG Unpar
Jl. Ciumbuleuit No. 94

Sunday, 29 July 2007
at 7.30 pm
Usmar Ismail Hall
Jl. HR Rasuna Said

The Programme

Kyrie from Missa Papae Marcelli - G.P. da Palestrina
Stabat Mater - G.P. da Palestrina
Ubi Caritas - Stephen Caracciolo
Ave Maria - Ivan Yohan
Benedic anima mea Domino - Jaako Mäntyjärvi

Rain Chant - Murray Schafer
Läksin mina kesäyönä käymään (As I set off me summernight) - Leevi Madetoja
Two unaccompanied Part Songs - Frederik Delius
Gai Bintang - Budi Susanto Yohanes
Dobbin’s Flowery Vale - Matti Kallio



VIP - Rp 75.000,-
Regular - Rp 40.000,-
Student - Rp 25.000,-


VIP - Rp 100.000,-
Regular - Rp 50.000,-
Student - Rp 30.000,-


For more information and ticket reservation please contact:


Jl. Boscha No. 12
Phone +62 22 2031028 (Kristoforus)


Phone +62 811 229252

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...